J.Erdenebulgan nominated to Constitutional Court

  • 428
  • 0

     On March 22, the Supreme Court nominated director of the Law School of the National University of Mongolia (NUM) J.Erdenebulgan as a member of the Constitutional Court and decided to submit it to Parliament.

Of the 18 candidates who applied for membership to the Constitutional Court, three withdrew their candidacies, two were rejected on the grounds that they had reached the maximum age for public service, and voting was held for the remaining 13 candidates.

The terms of office of the Constitutional Court members Sh.Tsogtoo and D.Solongo expired on December 26, 2019.

As there was no other candidate to receive decisive support, the issue of re-nominating a member will be openly discussed in accordance with the rules of procedure of all judges of the Supreme Court.

PhD J.Erdenebulgan served as archivist of the Dundgovi Province Court from 1988 to 1989, as professor of the Law School of NUM from 1995, as head of Training Department of NUM from 2004 to 2006 and as associate professor of the Department of Criminal Law of NUM from 2006 to 2015. He was appointed as director of the Law School of NUM in 2015.

Misheel Lkhasuren