M.Tulgat and O.Tsogtgerel win DP chairship elections

  • 557
  • 0

Split Democratic Party (DP) factions held separate chairship elections and two chairs were elected on March 28.

In particular, M.Tulgat was elected in the election organized by the Internal Election Committee (IEC) of the party led by Kh.Altankhuyag, while O.Tsogtgerel received the most votes in the election held by the IEC led by I.Munkhjargal.

M.Tulgat won with 2,134.01 points, while candidate L.Gundalai received 898.58 points, Ts.Urtnasan 1,020.86 points, Ch.Unurbayar 1,479.33 points and Ts.Oyungerel 2,067.21 points. A total of 30,077 members cast their ballots electronically, according to Kh.Altankhuyag.

On March 29, I.Munkhjargal reported that a total of 74,908 members, or 46.9 percent, voted in the election. Candidates D.Purevdavaa received 6,040 votes or 7,334.1 points, O.Tsogtgerel 41,199 votes or 415,101 points, O.Amartuvshin 16,075 votes or 16,050 points, and S.Erdenebold 8,928 votes or 10,198 points, I.Munkhjargal said.

“According to preliminary results, O.Tsogtgerel was elected with 54.6 percent of votes. In accordance with the party rule, the candidate who receives the most votes shall be approved by the party’s Congress. O.Tsogtgerel will be officially approved and registered by the Supreme Court. He is the legitimate leader. The election held by the other faction is illegal. Some 74,908 members of the party cast their ballots in the traditional paper format. There is no better guarantee,” I.Munkhjargal said. The IEC led by Kh.Altankhuyag reported that I.Munkhjargal’s activities violate the law.

“According to the party’s rules and regulations, I.Munkhjargal is not head of the IEC. He is using an invalid seal of the committee,” Kh.Altankhuyag said on March 17.

M.Tulgat graduated from Kyoto University with a bachelor’s degree in economics in 2003, and from the same university with a master’s degree in 2005. He worked as financier of SoftBank Ink from 2005 to 2009, as director of Backforce LLC from 2010 to 2013. He has been deputy director of Khishig Arvin Group since 2013 and representative of the Ulaanbaatar City Council since 2016.

O.Tsogtgerel graduated from the School of Computer Science and Management of the Mongolian University of Science and Technology with a bachelor’s degree in 1998, and studied at the National Academy of Governance. He served as director of Teso LLC from 1998 to 2011, as advisor to the prime minister of Mongolia from 2012 to 2015, as head of the DP branch of Uvs Province from 2015 to 2018, and as president of Teso Corporation from 2015 to 2020. He was elected to Parliament in 2020.

O.Tsogtgerel, M.Tulgat

Misheel Lkhasuren