Voting ends for citizens living abroad

  • 896
  • 1

         The voting for the 2021 presidential election took place between May 30 and 31 at 44 diplomatic missions of Mongolia in 30 countries around the world.

In accordance with the Law on Presidential Election of Mongolia, the start and end dates of the branch election commissions were different, as the votes were collected from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. local time.

Therefore, voting started at 5:00 a.m. on May 30, Ulaanbaatar time, at the Branch Commission in Canberra, Australia, and at 10:00 p.m. on May 30, Ulaanbaatar time, at the Branch Commission in San Francisco, US. In other words, the last voting took place at the San Francisco Branch Commission at 1:00 p.m. on June 1, Ulaanbaatar time. 

On June 1, the General Election Commission reported that, of the 7,394 registered voters abroad, a total of 5,618 voters, or 76 percent had cast their ballots.

According to Central Commission for Voting Abroad, as of 10:00 p.m. on May 31, Ulaanbaatar time, voter turnout was low in Berlin, Budapest, Washington, Prague, and San Francisco, averaging around 40 percent. May 31 was a work day, which may have affected voter turnout, the commission reported.

Four observers from Youth Policy Monitoring NGO registered in accordance with Article 64 of the Law on Presidential Election and 15 observers from the Mongolian People’s Party conducted an external observation of the voting process.

The Central Commission for Voting Abroad said that the Right Person Voter Coalition submitted its request to register 12 observers on May 27, which was rejected on the grounds that it came after the deadline specified in Article 64.4 of the Law on Presidential Election.

The General Election Commission will conduct the counting together with the voters in Mongolia in accordance with Article 69 of the Law on Presidential Elections.

The presidential election is set to take place on Wednesday, June 9.

Turnout of voters abroad as of 10:00 p.m. on May 31

Branch commissions

Voter turnout

Branch commissions

Voter turnout

Bangkok, Thailand

33 voters, or 91.7 percent

Prague, Czech

86 voters, or 40.8 percent

Berlin, Germany

258 voters, or 62.6 percent

Rome, Italy

15 voters, or 65.2 percent

Brussels, Belgium

118 voters, or 71.1 percent

Sofia, Bulgaria

20 voters, or 83.3 percent

Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan

17 voters, or 77.3 percent

Seoul, South Korea

753 voters, or 69.9 percent

Budapest, Hungary

202 voters, or 64.3 percent

Stockholm, Sweden

174 voters, or 74.7 percent

Beijing, China

82 voters, 97.6 percent


62 voters, or 95.4 percent

Warsaw, Poland

124 voters, or 78 percent

Tokyo, Japan

719 voters, or 86.7 percent

Washington, US

294 voters, or 48 percent

Hanoi, Vietnam

25 voters, or 92.6 percent

Vienna, Austria

118 voters, or 72.4 percent

Geneva, Switzerland

126 voters, or 79.2 percent

Vientiane, Laos

30 voters, or 100 percent

New York, US

59 voters, or 58.4 percent

Havana, Cuba

20 voters, or 83.3 percent

Istanbul, Turkey

73 voters, or 43.2 percent

Delhi, India

14 voters, or 87.5 percent

San Francisco, US

172 voters, or 36.4 percent

Cairo, Egypt

14 voters, or 72.2 percent

Osaka, Japan

106 voters, or 87.6 percent

Ankara, Turkey

27 voters, or 77.1 percent

Kyzyl, Russia

21 voters, or 100 percent

Canberra, Australia

541 voters, or 70.5 percent

Ulan-Ude, Russia

87 voters, or 88.8 percent

Kuwait city, Kuwait

7 voters, or 100 percent

Irkutsk, Russia

40 voters, or 88.9 percent

London, the UK

139 voters, or 74.3 percent

Hohhot, China

49 voters, or 81.7 percent

Moscow, Russia

97 voters, or 84.3 percent

Hong Kong

23 voters, or 100 percent

Minsk, Belarus

20 voters, or 100 percent


31 voters, or 93.9 percent

Nur-Sultan, Kazakhstan

17 voters, or 85 percent

Erenhot, China

58 voters, or 70.7 percent

Ottawa, Canada

42 voters, or 61.8 percent

Busan, Korea

114 voters, or 74 percent

Paris, France

54 voters, or 64.3 percent

Manchuria, China

6 voters, or 100 percent

Misheel Lkhasuren