Premier L.Oyun-Erdene becomes MPP chairman

  • 1009
  • 2

During the Mongolian People’s Party (MPP) Conference, held virtually from June 25 to 26, former MPP Chairman and President U.Khurelsukh left the party and Prime Minister L.Oyun-Erdene was unanimously elected as chairman.

Prime Minister L.Oyun-Erdene

U.Khurelsukh wished the newly elected Chairman L.Oyun-Erdene to continue the 100-year-old history of the party with dignity and success in his work for the development of the country, and handed over the seal of MPP.

During the Conference, L.Oyun-Erdene noted that the ruling MPP needs to implement a policy to support the private sector, increase GDP, promote exports and expand the economy, and said that he would deepen party reform and implement a policy of becoming a more political, transparent and participatory e-party.

After the Conference, General Secretary of MPP D.Amarbayasgalan reported that MPP will continue to earn the public trust and work for its values. “First, the party aims to strengthen and respect human rights and freedom. Second, we will work to build a humane and democratic society. Finally, MPP aims to provide more opportunities and equal opportunities for young people under the age of 35,” he said. “One of the goals of the party is to increase the people’s trust in the political party, to eliminate the shortcomings of the political party, and to bring a new generation. In this regard, L.Oyun-Erdene, who was born in 1980, was elected as chairman of MPP. It is an expression of the desire for political party reform, ethics and accountability.”


During the MPP Conference on June 26, members of the Conference and the board of directors were reappointed.

Minister of Culture Ch.Nomin, adviser to the prime minister of Mongolia T.Khash-Erdene, Deputy Prime Minister of Mining and Heavy Industry O.Batnairamdal, founder of Lhamour Brand D.Khulan, and some former members of the Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party (MPRP) were appointed as member of MPP Conference.

Head of the MPP Organization Department N.Enkhbaatar, Head of the Media and e-Policy Department Ts.Chuluunzagd and former Secretary General of MPRP B.Tulga were appointed as full-time secretaries of MPP, while lawmaker D.Sarangerel was appointed as a part-time secretary.

Last May, the Supreme Court accepted the request of MPRP to suspend its activities and be dissolved due to its merger with MPP. Particularly, MPP and MPRP forged an agreement to merge, and MPRP supported the MPP candidate in the 2021 presidential race.

Misheel Lkhasuren